Testimonials

31Aug

Angels of the Internet Sent me to Michael Chang, MD

I had spinal stenosis surgery back in 2008 that lasted until this year 2015 when my back was always in extreme pain. I got by increasing my Celebrex dosage to two a day that worked but I know it was getting worse. I went in search of a new doctor since I wasn't to happy with the last place I went to. I would have a 1:00 pm appt. and if I was lucky I would get in by 2:30. I had the same experience trying to get refills on my prescriptions. I couldn't be happier when the angels of the internet sent me to Dr. Michael Chang. He looked at my MRI and told me that it looked like a jig saw puzzle with pieces missing. He ran every kind of pre-surgical testing and set up the surgery for July 28, 2015. I went to Scottsdale Healthcare on Shea at 5:30 am. He was right that I wouldn't like him after the surgery. The surgery in 2008 I was pretty much running around after 4 weeks but this one was so much more involved. My itemized bill from the hospital told me that they used 120 parts in my surgery, I have a feeling the airline security is not going to like me anymore. Well here I am 1 month plus 3 days out, I still have quite a bit of pain but working with my therapist its coming around. He thinks I will be getting rid of the walker in the next week. I see Dr. Chang on Sept. 9 which is my first visit since the surgery. I'm hoping that I can walk in without the walker. I'm hoping that I will soon be back on the floor playing with my dog and grandchildren. They told me 3 months with a lot of restrictions then they will begin to lighten, I will listen to them and follow the rules because I don't want to see pain ever come back. Thank you Dr. Chang and your wonderful staff.


-K.W.

Posted in Testimonials, Michael Chang, MD

25Aug

I cannot thank you enough for all your help, support, and understanding these past six weeks!

pierre-letter-8-25-15Dear Pierre, 

I cannot thank you enough for all your help, support, and understanding these past six weeks! Knowing you would always return my calls promptly was so reassuring! Thank you so much! You're great!

Posted in Testimonials

17Aug

Much Needed Relief

Dr. Young,

I would like to thank you for your tender care I got with my neck issues. You’re the best. The last injection worked for a few weeks and brought some much needed relief. 

It is with sadness that I have to move from the valley to help care for my father who had a stroke at 90 years young. My neck still has its problems and I wish I could take you with me so I can complete the process. I know you would have figured it out in the end. We didn’t get our home run yet but we were getting close. Thank you again – I only hope to find another doctor in South Dakota that is half the doctor you are.

-J.K.

Posted in Testimonials, Lyle Young, MD

17Aug

Sincere Appreciation

thankyou8-17Dr. Crandall, Melissa, and the entire staff,

Thank you so much for the concern, compassion, and care that I have received. Everyone has been so kind.

I am so glad I was referred to Dr. Crandall. My back is starting to feel strong with less pain. I look forward to the day I can return to all the activities I enjoy. Thank you Dr. Crandall.

With sincere appreciation and thanks,
-D.F.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD, Melissa Gebardt Tsai, PA-C

04Aug

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You

Before surgery, I had difficulty walking more than several hundred feet some days and others, more like 50 feet. Now, I am half way through my new year’s goal of walking 1,000 miles in 2015. As of July 11, I have walked 547 miles and will be doing my 5.1 mile walk to Starbucks and back later this morning! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Melissa Gebhardt Tsai and Dennis Crandall. You have given me back my life.

-S.R.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD, Melissa Gebardt Tsai, PA-C

03Aug

Never Say it Can't Be Done

I have had three previous spinal surgeries between 2007 and 2009. Each surgeon told me that their corrections were the very best and THAT there was very little hope I would walk or stand upright ever again. They were so wrong. Dr. Chang gave me those two gifts, standing and walking. He is mine and my family's hero!!!

-C.S.

Posted in Testimonials, Michael Chang, MD

03Aug

Knowledgeable and Professional

Dr. Datta performed my revision surgery on my lumbar spine after another Mesa neurosurgeon botched my first fusion. Although the damage had already been done after my first surgery, Dr. Datta stabilized my spine, and allowed my fusion to heal correctly.

Posted in Testimonials, Jason Datta, MD

03Aug

After Completing the Walk, I Felt Ecstatic!

Dear Dr. Crandall and Melissa,

Earlier this month, Alex and I went to Show Low for a few days to cool off. Three years ago, we visited the same town and lake for a reprieve before my 2012 back surgery. At that time, I could only walk around the lake (flat paved surface) for fifteen minutes because of the stenosis and pains shooting down my leg.

However, this month, I walked around the entire lake (about a mile) and had no trouble other than shortness of breath due to higher altitude. After completing the walk, I felt ecstatic! I wanted to call you right then with a Big Thank You! For me, it was like running a 5k, only on a smaller scale!

You and your team have certainly changed my life. As I enter the sixth decade of my life, I am fairly active (walk, swim, work out at gym, substitute teach, etc.). I do not plan on sky diving or surfing anytime soon, so I should be good.

Dr. M has prescribed a compound lotion that helps greatly with the cervical pain and muscle tightness. That really is my only problem spot. My back does require a break on long trips in the car, but doesn’t everyone?

My heart is filled with thanksgiving that I came to you in 1997. Our medical relationship is very dear to me. I recommend you to everyone. It seem like so many are opposed to surgery, but for me, it was the answer to a productive life!

Much appreciation and thanks,

-J.S.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD

29Jul

I no longer say, " No, I can't." I now say ,"Yes, I can"

I was heavily involved with high school sports, a physical education major in college, an Army infantry officer and 28 years a middle school teacher. My hobbies were bicycling and white water rafting. As I neared retirement problems started showing up in my lower back. My weight gain added to the problem.

The pain became a case of how tense and how frequent. I lived with it, but the pain won out. I've tried steroid shots, chiropractic decompression, acupuncture and radio frequency ablation. The RFA lasted the longest, almost 10 yrs.

However, the pain did return and RFA seemed the right choice again. It's been months since the procedure and I am doing very well. I go on mile long dog walks each day and several bike rides each week. Dr. Mosallaie and his team are very good at this. Thanks to them I no longer say, " No, I can't." I now say ,"Yes, I can". Thank you, Dr. Mosallaie.

-J.K.

Posted in Testimonials, Farhad Mosallaie, PhD, DO

10Jul

Gave Me and My Family Back My Lifestyle

I currently work for the Fire Department and my quality of life before my injury was very active. I hiked, biked, fished, went to the gym, golfed, and spent many days with my kids teaching softball, volleyball, and raising animals. I injured my lower back leaving me with severe nerve tension and electric pain down my left leg. I could barely stand, walk, or even sit for a long period. My life was miserable and depression started to kick in. I was consuming over the counter pain relief medications just to get through each day and remained on our couch for several months. My position of comfort was legs lifted on the arm rest of our couch and my back on the seat cushion. Ice packs and heat treatments seemed to make some of the pain go away.

During this miserable experience, I encountered 3 epidurals and probably consumed 2 prescriptions of ibuprophen without any relief. Now you can predict what changes my health was making…. YES, 20 pounds heavier from the steroid injections and not being active at all!

Posted in Testimonials, Michael Chang, MD

25Jun

Tempe & Peoria Office Shine

Before I go in for my surgery tomorrow I wanted to thank you for all your help and ask if you could pass along my gratitude to the staff at the Tempe and the Peoria office. Everyone I have had the opportunity to meet have been great, and I feel Dr. Fedoriw could not have recommended a better practice.

Thanks again for all you have done,

-K.S.

Posted in Testimonials

22Jun

June is Scoliosis Awareness Month

June is Scoliosis Awareness Month

With June being #ScoliosisAwareness month, I think this is fitting. It's all thanks to Dr. Chang, Jan Revella, and Pierre! You guys are amazing!

- P.L.

Posted in Testimonials, Michael Chang, MD

15Jun

Dr. Datta is a Genius at His Craft

I would like to say a very special thank you to Dr. Datta, And his assistants Amy and Kassandra. I had to have 2 separate lower lumbar surgeries within 6 weeks of each other. When I needed forms for work, insurance etc.., they would always accommodate my needs and get them done in a timely manner. Dr. Datta is a genius at his craft. He will take the time to explain everything in detail so the patient feels more comfortable with what they will be going through. I have been dealing with back and leg pain for almost 2 years. One day post-op and I feel incredible. Again, thank you to Dr. Datta, Amy and Kassandra.

R.P.

Posted in Testimonials, Jason Datta, MD

12Jun

Back to Work, Doing Well, and Active!

Dear Dr. Young,

I would like to formally thank you for caring for my brother. He is recovering to a level that is just wonderful. You have literally given him his lifestyle back again. He is back to work, doing very well, and is active. I have not seen him look so good and be so active in years. His current quality of life is amazing.

I would also like to thank you for clearly explaining the pathology of his spinal problem, showing us his x-rays and other diagnostic tests. You made it very clear what the problem was for him, plus what could be done to help him regain his health.

You are very skilled as a surgeon and a healer. Thank you for helping my brother.

Very truly yours,
-B.B.

Posted in Testimonials, Lyle Young, MD

03Jun

Keep Up the Good Work Total Body PT

Bert, Yoshi, Jessica, Michael, & Derek,

I want to thank each and everyone of you for your help in making me feel so much better. Keep up the good work.

Thanks so much.

M.W.

Posted in Testimonials

26May

You Have Impacted My Life

Dear Dr. Young,

When I was a child, probably 3 or 4 years old, there was a doctor that my mom would take me to see for all of the usual childhood ailments. This was back in the day when doctors would make house calls, so sometimes he would even come to our home to see us when we were sick, my siblings or me. I only knew him as Doctor Earl. I remember the times when I would see Dr. Earl because he would talk with me, ask me questions and explain things to me in ways a child could understand. I could feel he really cared. He would joke with me, tell me stories and thus because of all these things he could give me shots that wouldn't hurt. He had such a big impact on my life that some 55 years later I still remember.

I am telling you this Doctor Young because I want you to know that in all the years since I have never had another experience like that, until an accident introduced me to you. I will never be able to express my appreciation or thank you enough for all you've done, but even more than that, for your humanity. Taking the time to really listen to me and learn who I am and care about my life.

I never thought I would ever miss seeing a doctor but I will miss seeing you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for being you. You too have impacted my life and I feel honored to know you. I just want you to know that.

PS: Dr. Earl used to give me suckers. But I do like butter mints too.

Sincerely,

-K.H.

Posted in Testimonials, Lyle Young, MD

30Apr

Interventional Pain Management Experience

The staff at the front is very kind and addressed me right when I walked into the door. I only waited for 10 minutes before being brought back. The MA for the doctor was very friendly. The doctor was prompt and very informative about my condition. He even overbooked me the same week to get my injection done before I am to go back home. Very efficient staff who provided me with the direct number and e-mail address to contact if I had any questions. I would recommend this office to anyone!

-D.R.

Posted in Testimonials, Terrence Crowder, MD

23Apr

Compassion For Patients is Refreshing

Hi Melissa,

We want to thank you for the care you've done for my health stuff over the last two years. We were blessed to have you helping out.

It was you that believed in my pain for my arm/neck when everyone else seemed to think because of the MRI things were OK. You drilled down on the MRI, looked at my symptoms and came up with that was a C7–T1 issue. We appreciated your help in guiding me to having my hip replaced. We took your suggestion of surgery verses more injections and it worked. I can now dance the polka with the best of them.

I picked up my medical records from Sonoran Spine to take to another doc's opinion. The doc and I noticed in the records that in October you thought I may have a C6 issue but the MRI didn't show any real problem. I had a MRI done three weeks ago and the results showed a problem at C5-C6. The problem had worsened since my MRI done in Oct 2014. I know that a lot of people didn't think it was a spinal problem and more of a carpal tunnel issue, but clearly the last MRI in March 2015 revealed a spinal disc issue. Again, your clear concise looking at symptoms and test results were spot on for the problem.

The passion you have for your work and compassion for patients is refreshing in this day of "fast medical care". I've worked in healthcare for over 30 years and have never seen a person like you wanting to treat the patient in body and soul. I was thinking it was just that the great care you gave me was because we were Wausauoins and cheered for the Packers.

We believe it was a blessing that you were there for us. We pray you have a life of happiness and love.

Take care my friend,
BD & JD

Posted in Testimonials, Melissa Gebardt Tsai, PA-C

16Apr

A New Lease on Life

Dear Dr. Chang,

My wife, Anne suffered for a number of years with continuous back pain. She could not walk any distance without using walking sticks or holding on to me. On the recommendation of friends and chiropractor, we visited two surgeons. One was in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and the other one was in Phoenix, Arizona. Both had specialists that performed back surgery. One surgeon felt that Anne's condition was beyond his specialty. The other surgeon, Dr. Justin Field, very well-known in the Phoenix area, reviewed the x-rays and concluded with regrets that he could not do the surgery. He then referred us to Dr. Chang at the Sonoran Spine Center as he felt confident that Dr. Chang could do the surgery because this type of a back condition was his specialty.

On May 7, 2014, we visited with Dr. Chang. He took a number of x-rays and after examining them told us that he can do the surgery and assured us that when done, Anne will be walking straight. We were elated with the good news. He spent almost an hour discussing the surgery which impressed us as not all doctors take enough time with patients.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD

07Apr

Thank You for Taking Such a Personal Interest

Dr. Crandall’s surgery scheduler, Lori L. received a very nice compliment from a patient and his wife. Thank you for making a difference, Lori!

Lori,

Thank you for all your help getting me to surgery. If it wasn’t for you I would still be waiting. Lots of hoops to go through in your business. Thanks again. Surgery went very well. I am back to about 65% of where I was. Have to work on my left leg at the gym for a few more months.

-D.D.


Dear Lori,

It is almost 3 months since Dec. 5 when my husband had surgery. You were a bright guiding light to us during an intense scary time.

Thank you for taking such a personal interest in helping us get surgery. You even coordinated for us to see your own doctor to avoid surgery date set backs. My husband is recovering very well. He works out again at the gym. Nerve function is coming back in his left leg. Thank you, thank you. You made a big difference in the quality of his life! We are so grateful, Lori.

May you get the kind of care you so willingly gave to us!

-T.D.

Posted in Testimonials

29Mar

Our Peoria Team Exceeding Expectations

Dear Dr. Crandall,

I am writing this letter to compliment what an amazing team you have in the Peoria Office. 5 years ago I had a neck fusion by another Spine doctor and much to my dismay some of the spine did not fuse properly and consequently I have suffered much pain and tried everything from physical therapy to various medications. I was referred to another surgeon at St. Josephs. I began the process of MRI and cat scans and when I called to schedule a follow-up appointment I was told I was not to contact them that once all had been reviewed they would call me. Needless to say not only have they never called me for a follow-up but this was back in July 2014 and now I live in constant in pain my hands are completely numb.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD

20Mar

Celebration of Anne's Successful Surgery

Celebration of Anne's Successful Surgery

To thank Dr. Chang for a successful surgery and the others involved in her care, Anne and her husband hosted a Croatian BBQ in celebration of her recovery. Eight weeks post-surgery, Anne already feels like she has her life back.  Thank you for allowing Sonoran Spine to take part in this amazing celebration!

Posted in Testimonials, Michael Chang, MD

13Mar

Thanks for Taking Such Good Care of Us

Dr. Chang’s medical assistant, Pierre received a kind note from a patient today.

Pierre,

We are so very grateful for all you’ve done for me/us these last many months. I’m sure I’ve been a challenge – but you always seem to care back with the right answer as quickly as you can. You have always retained your sweet kindness, compassion and it shows in your actions.

Thanks for taking such good care of us.

D & J

Posted in Testimonials

07Mar

Thank You

Dr. Jason Datta,

Thank you for meeting with my husband and I two weeks ago. Also, thank you for calling me at home and giving me advice. Your explanation and time really helped me better understand my neck situation. I appreciate your time!

Thanks again,
-S.L.

Posted in Testimonials, Jason Datta, MD

15Jan

Would Recommend Sonoran Spine to Anyone

Melissa Gebardt Tsai, PA-C takes extremely good care of me. She is on point and always friendly. I have always been impressed with Dr. Crandall and his whole team. I am progressing nicely from my 3rd back surgery that was just completed in December (first one done by Dr. Crandall) and look forward to finally being pain free. I would recommend Sonoran Spine to anyone!

Posted in Testimonials, Melissa Gebardt Tsai, PA-C

21Jan

You are Quite the "Miracle Worker."

Bert,

You are quite the "miracle worker." Your staff is so supportive as well as professional. Even though it was an injury that guided me to you, I feel blessed it did. You have taught me more about how to heal my body, more than all the doctors combined. Even thou I do find it hard to express what hurts ? its for my own good. Thank you for sharing your incredible knowledge. It's both your passion as well as gift. It touches so many lives.

-J.R.

Posted in Testimonials, Bert Bednar, DPT

08Dec

Thank You For Being What All Physicians Should Be

Kristina, this e-mail is simply to say I think you are one of the finest MA’s I have ever encountered and hope that everyone you work with appreciates you for your worth. Also, I want to wish you an awesome holiday with your family. You are the greatest and I thank you for all your help these last 2 years.

Please pass this on to Dr. Crowder:

You are a fine surgeon, and even here in Show Low they talk about you and what they have seen you do in a short time at the hospital. I want to thank you for your patience with me and all you saw me through including the broken bones which were not in your field to even treat. I want to tell you that your bedside manner is exception, and because I wanted a miracle from you (the same one you used on my spine) I was a pain in your butt, but you never let it show. LOL You will be so rich and famous someday, the little people will never get in to see you! I can't thank you enough for trying all you did to fix my (BUTT), and I know you wanted to give me up a long time ago. YOU ARE THE BEST. I wish you and your family a blessed and perfect holiday however you spend it. Again, thank you for everything, and thank you for being what all physicians should be. 

-L.D.

Posted in Testimonials, Terrence Crowder, MD

21Jan

RECOGNITION FOR KENDRA RICHARDS

Today I had my followup with Kendra stemming from my original evaluation a few weeks back. After about 6 weeks of severe leg pain and multiple diagnostic tests, I had been referred to Sonoran Spine to see a specialist. I will admit being somewhat leery to be seen by a PA instead of a doctor. But, my desire to be seen quickly overcame my caution.

Within 30 minutes on that first appointment, Kendra was able to diagnose and propose a plan to attach the two issues that were affecting me! This after no solid answers for the 6-weeks prior. Needless to say, I was impressed with the professionalism and customer service Kendra provided that day. But that wasn't the end of it. One of the issues required a blood test to determine if cancer was present or not. As soon as the lab results came in, Kendra called me from her cell phone even though she was not on duty at the time! The test results were negative, which is a blessing, but Kendra's commitment to providing prompt feedback regardless of the results is to be commended.

Today's follow up appointment was equally well done and I have no further trepidation in seeing PAs, at least not at Sonoran Spine. Just thought you might want some feedback on a great employee.

-BV

Posted in Testimonials

06Nov

YOU ARE RESPECTED AND TRULY APPRECIATED

Dr. Jason Datta,

Please let me take a moment from your busy day, to send my most sincere gratitude and thanks.

As you know, it has been several years since you performed surgery on my spine. I am so grateful to you and your staff. You really did “save my life.” I was living with such unbearable pain, that I truly was “ready to kill myself,” if it had not been for you.

Because of your great skills, you were able to perform surgery that has given me relief. I still have pain and discomfort, but it is tolerable to the extent that I am able to enjoy life again. Thanks to you, and the Lord, I am able to perform daily chores, and participate in social activities.

This is all due to you.

I will be forever grateful to you and just wanted to tell you. It is important that you know how much you are respected and truly appreciated.

-S.S.

Posted in Testimonials, Jason Datta, MD

19Nov

THANK YOU FOR THE INCREDIBLE CARE

THANK YOU FOR THE INCREDIBLE CARE

Thank you Dr. Crandall, Claire, Melissa, & Sonoran Spine staff for the INCREDIBLE care before, during, and after surgery! Your “bedside manner” in the office and in the hospital is MUCH APPRECIATED! Enjoy your lunch.

-J.G.

Posted in Testimonials, Dennis Crandall, MD

<<  1 2 [34  >>  

topdocawards

  • Gilbert | 2557 S. Val Vista Dr, Ste 103, Gilbert, AZ 85295

  • Glendale | 5681 W. Beverly Ln, Ste 101, Glendale, AZ 85306

  • Mesa* | 10238 East Hampton Ave, Ste 416, Mesa, AZ 85209  
    New Location Opening January 2017
  • North Scottsdale | 20401 N. 73rd St, Ste 155, Scottsdale, AZ 85255

  • Southwest Phoenix | 9305 W. Thomas Rd, Ste 555, Phoenix, AZ 85037

  • Scottsdale |9700 N. 91st St, St B108, Scottsdale, AZ 85258

  • Show Low |5171 Cub Lake Rd, #C350, Show Low, AZ 85901

  • Tempe | 1255 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Ste 107, Tempe, AZ 85281